Love n Light
Love n Light

Chakras : Centers of energy & awareness in human body

Chakras are centers of energy and awareness in the human body. These energy centers are non-physical. They are found in the subtle energy system. Their function is to vitalize the physical body and to bring about the development of our self-consciousness.

The chakras influence cells, organs and the entire hormone system. They affect one’s thoughts and feelings. They are also centers of psychic energy.

The word ‘Chakra’ comes from Sanskrit. It means ‘wheel’. Clairvoyants perceive chakras as colorful rotating wheels. Through their rotation, they take energies from the environment, from plants, animals and other people, as well as from the sun, moon and planets and the entire cosmos. At the same time, the chakras radiate cosmic energy from within the person.

Thus chakras collect and transmit energy and make it available for the ongoing process of an individual’s physical, mental and spiritual life. They also promote hamony between one’s inner and outer world.

Importance of Chakras

Chakras play a vital role in our physical, mental, emotional and spiritual wellbeing. If the chakras are not balanced or blocked, the basic life force in the energy system gets disturbed. As a result physical diseases may manifest. An individual may feel tired or dipressed. A negative attitude, fear, anger, hatred, lack of anthusiasm etc. may preocupy them.

So for the free flow of natural energy and to promote health and a sense of well being, the chakras must be open and balanced.

Seven Primary Chakras

In ancient scriptures, thousands of chakras are mentioned. However, seven primary chakras are responsible for maintaining life in our body and for sense perception, mental activity and higher awareness. These seven primary chakras are aligned on the spinal column begining at the base upto the top of the head.

Each chakra is associated with a color, a mantra (sound), an element. A physical area of the body, a gland and an aspect of our life correspond to a chakra.

1. Muladhara (Root Chakra)

Central Theme : Will to live, security, trust, self-preservation.

Color : Red

Mantra : LAM

Element : Earth

Sensory Perception : Smell

Physical area : Pelvis, Skeleton system, bones, large intestine, nails and teeth.

Glandular function : Suprarenal glands (cortisone, adrenalin, noradrenalin)

Mental level : Will to Live

Spiritual level : Basic Trust

2. Svadhishthana (Sacral Chakra)

Central Theme : Sexuality, sensuality, fertility, creativity.

Color : Orange

Mantra : VAM

Element : Water

Sensory Perception : Taste

Physical area : Sexual organs, kidneys, bladder, blood circulation.

Glandular function : Testicles and Ovaries glands (Estrogen, testosterone)

Mental level : Awareness of one’s own body

Spiritual level : Creativity

3. Manipura (Solar Plexus Chakra)

Central Theme : Will power, personality, self-control.

Color : Yellow

Mantra : RAM

Element : Fire

Sensory Perception : Sight

Physical area : Digestion, small intestine, liver, autonomic nervous system.

Glandular function : Pancreas (insulin, digestive enzymes)

Mental level : Emotion

Spiritual level : Sense of Self

4. Anahata (Heart Chakra)

Central Theme : Love, Empathy, Humanity.

Color : Green

Mantra : YAM

Element : Air

Sensory Perception : Touch

Physical area : Heart, lungs, blood, arms and hands.

Glandular function : Thymus (immune system)

Mental level : Empathy

Spiritual level : Love

5. Vishuddha (Throat Chakra)

Central Theme : Communication, Truth, Inspiration.

Color : Sky Blue

Mantra : HAM

Element : Ether

Sensory Perception : Hearing

Physical area : Throat, neck, esophagus and wind pipe, shoulders, jaw.

Glandular function : Thyroid and parathyroid (thyroxin)

Mental level : Communication

Spiritual level : Truth

6. Ajna (Brow or Third Eye Chakra)

Central Theme : Intuition, Perception, Fantasy.

Color : Indigo

Mantra : KSHAM

Sensory Perception : Reason, Intuition

Physical area : Cerebellum, nervous system, hormonal system, eyes, ears, nose, sinuses.

Glandular function : Pituitory gland (vasopressin)

Mental level : Fantasy

Spiritual level : Wisdom

7. Sahasrara (Crown Chakra)

Central Theme : Spirituality, Enlightenment, Self-realization.

Color : Violet

Mantra : OM

Sensory Perception : Cosmic Consciousness

Physical area : Brain, the entire organism.

Glandular function : Pineal gland (serotonin, melatonin)

Mental level : Self-realization

Spiritual level : Enlightenment